misterkasce.blogg.se

Arduino mega eprom programmer
Arduino mega eprom programmer





arduino mega eprom programmer
  1. Arduino mega eprom programmer generator#
  2. Arduino mega eprom programmer code#
  3. Arduino mega eprom programmer windows#

Now, reducing delays is starting to cause problems again, but by reducing them one by one, I believe I've cornered the actual issue (on read). Ultimately all of this is for the fun of it, and the experience, (and the computer running pacman will be my anniversary gift to my fiance (who now knows about the project, since I couldn't hide it any longer)) As far as an eeprom programmer, the ones I saw were pretty expensive, and it seemed like a no brainer to build one with an arduino, since all it is is pushing bits in and out of the chip, I plan on building a shield for it too (although I know it already exists) just for the fun of it.

Arduino mega eprom programmer code#

I fully intend on using a trusted assembler if my assembler fails to assemble code reliably, or if I have issues with it in any way. The assembler comes naturally, I'm a programmer by trade and I've done similar work before, so I might as well lend my skills to the community, and if it turns out to be garbage, I'll at least learn more about the ins and outs of assembly along the way, and learn some valuable lessons about assemblers themselves. The reason I'm building everything is for the experience of doing so. Get something you know will work, something that will give you a bit of a boost to get started then use it to test and build your own. Others will be using other assemblers and programmers - we all have our favourites and very few have written/build their own, but I'd really suggest you establish a good base-point first. I use a Genius G540 programmer that also works well and was relatively inexpensive. It's very well established, works well and I've used it for some time now.

Arduino mega eprom programmer windows#

However, I do think that at some point, it might be a good idea to stop, think and maybe make life easier for yourself and buy or use something with a proven track record.Īs65 (from the cc65 suite) is a good assembler that runs under MS Windows and Linux. You're now making your own eeprom programmer. (In Java, to make it cross platform - admirable) So-far, you've designed and built an 65816 board from scratch, never having made anything like it in the past.

Arduino mega eprom programmer generator#

I've ordered 4 more chips but I'd like to get this taken care of so when the last parts for the computer get here I can have it ready with a NOP generator programmed in. Also, when I got the chip, I think most values were initialized to 0, I've read that they're supposed to be initialized to FF.ĭo I have a bad chip? Or is there something else going on. Some of the timing values are a bit arbitrary, as I've been playing around with them trying to get it to work, I've gone up into the millisecond range on everything trying to figure this out. Read data pins and shift into byte result The problem I'm having is I can write to a byte, and read it back just fine, but after 5-10 seconds the byte starts losing bits, until it's completely zeroed out. Also, I had CE tied to ground originally but moved it when I took a closer look at the timing diagram on the data sheet. I will state, when I first hooked this up I made a pretty stupid mistake and hooked D6 and D7 to VCC directly (they're beside 22 and 23) and OE and WE were probably tied to the D6 and D7 places on the arduino. I've got D0-D3 tied to 16-19, D4 on 30 and D5 on 31 and D6-D7 on 22 and 23 (pins 20 and 21 were acting up, I figured maybe because they were for i2c serial, although that makes no sense, I know that they weren't correctly reading or writing though). I've got A0-A13 hooked up to pins 2-15 and A14 tied to VCC (I'm only using 16K of this eeprom on the machine, so a14 doesn't matter).

arduino mega eprom programmer

The reason I chose the mega was I did not have shift registers laying around and programming it parallel would greatly reduce the thought needed for hooking it up, also, I happened to have a mega on my desk. I got an AT 28c256 EEPROM for my first build and I'm working on programming it using an arduino mega. Ok so I've been banging my head against this issue now for hours and I've decided to post something here while I continue to bang my head against it, so hopefully someone can ease my pain.







Arduino mega eprom programmer